





International Society of Impact Engineering



## Outline of ICII SM

The Fraunhofer Institute for High-Speed Dynamics, Ernst-Mach-Institut, EMI, will host the 4th International Conference on Impact Loading of Structures and Materials from May 13–17, 2024.

The conference is the fourth in a series of international conferences organized by the International Society of Impact Engineering. ICILSM 2024 takes place in Freiburg, Germany.

The list of topics includes but is not limited to:

- Failure of structures under impact and blast loadings
- Systems for protection against impact and blast loadings
- Terminal ballistics and impact physics
- Hypervelocity impact research
- Dynamic behavior of materials, including failure and fracture
- Structural crashworthiness
- High-rate mechanical and forming processes
- Measurement techniques for impact, blast and high-rate loading

#### Contact

Prof. Dr. Stefan Hiermaier
Director of Fraunhofer EMI

Eva-Maria Forstmeier
Advisor to the Institute Management
Phone +49 761 2714-111
ICILSM2024@emi.fraunhofer.de



## Organizing committee

Prof. Stefan Hiermaier Dr. Andreas Heine Dr. Stefano Signetti Prof. Werner Riedel

Registration and abstract submission will open soon.

# Deadline for submission of abstracts: September 15, 2023

More details will follow: www.emi.fraunhofer.de/icilsm2024

You are welcome to forward the announcement to interested colleagues. To be updated reliably, please subscribe to the distribution list by sending a short message to the conference email address:

ICILSM2024@emi.fraunhofer.de



### Scientific committee

Serge Abrate Southern Illinois University, USA
William Altenhof University of Windsor, Canada
Marcílio Alves University of São Paulo (USP), Brazil
Daniel Ambrosini National University of Cuyo,
Argentina

Massimiliano Avalle Università di Genova, Italy Francesco Aymerich University of Cagliari, Italy Mike Bambach The University of Sydney, Australia Giovanni Belingardi Politecnico di Torino, Italy

Pierre Jean Arnoux IFSTTAR, France

**Ahmed Benallal** Laboratoire de Mécanique et Technologie (LMT) - Cachan, France

Nicola Bonora Università degli studi di Cassinoe del Lazio Meridionale, Italy

**Tore Børvik** Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU), Norway

**Ezio Cadoni** University of Applied Sciences and Arts of Southern Switzerland (SUPSI), Switzerland

Wesley Cantwell Khalifa University, UAE

**Bruno Castanié** Institut National des Sciences Appliquées (INSA) - Toulose, France

Weinong Chen Purdue University, USA

Duane Cronin University of Waterloo, Canada

John P. Dear Imperial College London, UK

Fabian Duddeck Technical University of Munich (TUM), Germany

Ahmed Elmarakb Northumbria University, UK

Michael Gilchrist University College Dublin, Ireland

Narinder Kumar Gupta Indian Institute of Technology, India

Norman Jones University of Liverpool, UK

Recherches Aerospatiales (ONERA), France

**Dora Karagiozova** Bulgarian Academy of Sciences, Bulgaria

Ted Krauthammer University of Florida, USA
Genevieve Langdon The University of Sheffield, UK

Bertrand Langrand Office National d'Etudes et

Magnus Langseth Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU), Norway

Valentina Lopresto Università degli Studi di Napoli Federico II, Italy **Guoxing Lu** Swinburne University of Technology, Australia

**Eric Markiewicz** Université Polytechnique Hauts-de-France, France

Francesco Marulo Università degli Studi di Napoli Federico II, Italy

Roberta Massabò Università di Genova, Italy Dirk Mohr ETH Zürich, Switzerland

**Gerald Nurick** University of Cape Town, South Africa

Nik Petrinic University of Oxford, UK

Anthony Pickett University of Stuttgart, Germany

William G. Proud Imperial College London, UK

Kaliat T. Ramesh Johns Hopkins University, USA

**Leonard E. Schwer** Schwer Engineering & Consulting Services, USA

**Victor P.W. Shim** National University of Singapore (NUS), Singapore

Arun Shukla University of Rhode Island, USA

William J. Stronge University of Cambridge, UK

Reza Vaziri The University of British Columbia, Canada

Patricia Verleysen Ghent University, Belgium

Tomasz Wierzbicki Massachussetts Institute of Technology (MIT), USA

Michael Worswick University of Waterloo, Canada

**David Yankelevsky** Technion – Israel Institute of Technology, Israel

**Tongxi Yu** Hong Kong University of Science and Technology (HKUST), Hong Kong

**Han Zhao** Laboratoire de Mécanique et Technologie (LMT) - Cachan, France

Yulong Li Northwestern Polytechnical University (NWPU), China

Zhongwei Guan University of Liverpool, UK